[ Midtown Madness 2 Central ] [ Midtown Madness 2 Central ]

Midtown Madness 2 Central > The Bodyshop > modPackage missing error
View previous topic | View next topic
Author
Message Post new topicReply to topic
random.monster1981
Amateur Modeller ftw!

Joined: 18 Oct 2008
Posts: 832
Location: under your bed dropping wind.

Status: Offline


Post subject: modPackage missing error Reply with quote

hi all, I've been modelling a bus ( yes one of them ) and while it looks really good in zmodeller, I've been having issues with loading it in game.

it just gets past the intro movie on mm2 and I get a "Ding" which indicates an error.

I then alt&tab out to desktop to find...



anyone had this issue before and has any idea what has possibly caused it?

anyone got a fix for it?

thanks Smile

RM1981
Post 16 Apr 2010 07:19 pm
View user's profile Send private message
busboy99
MM2C Hooligan

Joined: 17 Feb 2006
Posts: 3607


Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

What the heck mate?! That's a new one!
_________________
A boy was singing in a school hall when suddenly the immensity of the infinite universe hit him, and his eyes blasted out of their sockets and his lips burst and he fell to the ground and wept, his conciousness leaking out of his skull in gas form (which frightened the younger children).
- Chriddof
Also, I'm banned.
Post 16 Apr 2010 07:30 pm
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
random.monster1981
Amateur Modeller ftw!

Joined: 18 Oct 2008
Posts: 832
Location: under your bed dropping wind.

Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

busboy99 wrote:
What the heck mate?! That's a new one!


lul your telling me!
not ONCE before today have I ever saw that error but it's giving me a LOT of grief Laughing
Post 16 Apr 2010 07:35 pm
View user's profile Send private message
busboy99
MM2C Hooligan

Joined: 17 Feb 2006
Posts: 3607


Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

random.monster1981 wrote:
busboy99 wrote:
What the heck mate?! That's a new one!


lul your telling me!
not ONCE before today have I ever saw that error but it's giving me a LOT of grief Laughing


Hahaha +1!!

"missing file magic" ; What. The. Feck. What, so making buses for mm2 is down to magic now? I dont think so! Laughing
_________________
A boy was singing in a school hall when suddenly the immensity of the infinite universe hit him, and his eyes blasted out of their sockets and his lips burst and he fell to the ground and wept, his conciousness leaking out of his skull in gas form (which frightened the younger children).
- Chriddof
Also, I'm banned.
Post 16 Apr 2010 07:36 pm
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
RelentlessTurd
Modelling N00b

Joined: 01 Mar 2010
Posts: 199
Location: Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK

Status: Offline


Xbox Live Gamertag:
RelentlessTurd
Post subject: Reply with quote

I didn't know that people ate data either! Laughing
Or, what busboy said!
This is crazy, but I'm having problems on the part where you actually make the body of the bus and I need a lot of help from someone! Embarassed
_________________
Post 16 Apr 2010 07:42 pm
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
GT
MM2C Guru

Joined: 18 Mar 2005
Posts: 1771


Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you got all 6 folders?

Is the .pkg named correctly?

Are the textures all the correct size?

Are the .mtx files in the Geometry folder?

Do you have the .dgBangerData files?
Post 16 Apr 2010 07:50 pm
View user's profile Send private message
ediblechickenwing
MM2C Addict

Joined: 05 Aug 2009
Posts: 564


Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

"magic" refers to the file type, so for example it could be a broken ar file or possibly pkg. OR, a wrong version of the file type. For example, I don't know if the file types are different for MM1 and MM2, but you might have exported it for MM1 by accident or something (even if they're both pkg). Just as an example.

This is what "magic" refers to on other games I play anyway, there's two similar games (one newer than the other in the series) and although the extension is the same, the export filter is different. So if I exported the pmg file for game 1 and put it in game 2, it would come up with "wrong file magic version" or something like that, can't remember the exact wording.

The fact that it mentions "modPackage" makes me think it's something to do with the ar file. It didn't pack all the files correctly or is corrupt or along those lines would be my guess.
Post 16 Apr 2010 07:52 pm
View user's profile Send private message
GT
MM2C Guru

Joined: 18 Mar 2005
Posts: 1771


Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, it clearly is to do with the AR file, well done.
Post 16 Apr 2010 08:46 pm
View user's profile Send private message
ediblechickenwing
MM2C Addict

Joined: 05 Aug 2009
Posts: 564


Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

I mean the ar file rather than the model Rolling Eyes
Post 16 Apr 2010 09:03 pm
View user's profile Send private message
GT
MM2C Guru

Joined: 18 Mar 2005
Posts: 1771


Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

ediblechickenwing wrote:
I mean the ar file rather than the model Rolling Eyes


The model is within the .ar file, therefore anything to do with the model effects the .ar file Wink
Post 16 Apr 2010 09:29 pm
View user's profile Send private message
sajmon14
One of last MM2 track makers

Joined: 10 Oct 2008
Posts: 46
Location: Poland

Status: Offline


Xbox Live Gamertag:
PS3 is better
Post subject: Reply with quote

MM2 gives tat error if you resave pkg with notepad, so it's problem of model
_________________
_________________
Member of [LTV] Clan.
Post 24 Apr 2010 06:40 pm
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
random.monster1981
Amateur Modeller ftw!

Joined: 18 Oct 2008
Posts: 832
Location: under your bed dropping wind.

Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

sajmon14 wrote:
MM2 gives tat error if you resave pkg with notepad, so it's problem of model


strange cos I only save the PKG with zmodeller lol
Post 24 Apr 2010 08:23 pm
View user's profile Send private message
sajmon14
One of last MM2 track makers

Joined: 10 Oct 2008
Posts: 46
Location: Poland

Status: Offline


Xbox Live Gamertag:
PS3 is better
Post subject: Reply with quote

random.monster1981 wrote:
sajmon14 wrote:
MM2 gives tat error if you resave pkg with notepad, so it's problem of model


strange cos I only save the PKG with zmodeller lol

I meaned modifying file, not making a pkg with zmod
_________________
_________________
Member of [LTV] Clan.
Post 27 Apr 2010 07:22 pm
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
random.monster1981
Amateur Modeller ftw!

Joined: 18 Oct 2008
Posts: 832
Location: under your bed dropping wind.

Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

no modified files are ever needed nor used, it happens after I export the model and make an AR, all the needed files are there and all objects are present in zmodeller. Confused
Post 27 Apr 2010 11:32 pm
View user's profile Send private message
b12man
Nirvanophile

Joined: 07 Aug 2006
Posts: 2153
Location: Lurking somewhere near...

Status: Offline


Xbox Live Gamertag:
ForeignBrian 12
Post subject: Reply with quote

May already have been suggested, but try exporting it with the other version of zmodeler. Sometimes when one doesn't work, the other will Razz
_________________


Tutorials || Make Your Own Traffic | Change Traffic Tuning
Projects || 93 Mustang GT | 85 Chevy Suburban [WIP]
Post 28 Apr 2010 02:22 am
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous: Post new topicReply to topic

Page 1 of 1 All times are GMT


Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Home - MM2C.com - Contact - Staff & Seniors - FAQ - Community Rules - Syndication


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group