[ Midtown Madness 2 Central ] [ Midtown Madness 2 Central ]

Midtown Madness 2 Central > City Editing > [TCTT] How to add your own object to city
View previous topic | View next topic
Author
Message Post new topicReply to topic
Maxoff
MM2C Addict

Joined: 11 Nov 2004
Posts: 560
Location: Poland

Status: Offline


Post subject: [TCTT] How to add your own object to city Reply with quote

Local references:
- Program
- How to create simple city
- How to add your own object to city
- How to add grass effect
- Objects description
- Description of configuration files

-----------------------------------------------------

This is conversation made by me and Jon when he was trying to add his depot to London. I think that it could be helpful for other members so I wrote it here. You can also find it in this thread

-------------------------------

Process overview

1. Make PKG constains H, M, L, VL body and bound, then export it as TRAILER.
2. Put into city. There are two options:
a) put as INST
b) put as PROPS

Ad a)
- Run MM2CT,
- open SF,
- in BLOCKLIST find block where you want to place your object (whole object must be in ONE block)
- add your object to INST list
- move it to correct position

Ad b)
- Prepare banger file for object (you have to make it unbreakable),
- run MM2CT,
- open SF,
- add your object to PROPS list
- move it to correct position

3. Pack modified city to AR file:
- texture - with textures you use
- geometry - with your object
- city\sf.inst - if you use INST object
- city\sf\props.pathset - if you use PROPS object

About extracted cities

You've already extracted mm2core and mm2tex. Let say that they are in C:\mm2_dear. You should have there at least:
- city
- geometry
- texture
If you don't have one of them, you forgot about something.

Next step, please run MM2CT (try to use beta version), click File/Open PSDL and select C:\mm2_dear\city\london.psdl. Then click Yes three times.You should see something similar to this. You can also turn off texture View/Use textures for PSDL - program will work faster.

Adding new object

1. Copy your pkg file to geometry and your textures to texture.

2. Run MM2CT and open London.

3. Click right mouse button on INST list and select Add new

4. Select object you added, it should be at the end of the list

5. Move your object to position you want to see it in game. Please remember that WHOLE object must be in one block. MM2CT marks active block with red color

6. When you finish, click File -> Save INST, close MM2CT.

7. Create new directory C:\my_mod and then subdirectories: bound, city, geometry, texture.

8. Copy your bound to bound, your pkg file to geometry and texture to texture.

A. Copy C:\mm2_dear\city\london.inst to C:\my_mode\city\london.inst. This file contains objects' positions in city, you modified only this ONE file.

B. Pack C:\my_mod to !my_mod.ar and check in game.

If you want to modify your depot appearance, you just have to export PKG once again, you don't have to change anything in MM2CT. But if you want to modify depot position, you have to use MM2CT.

Questions

Jon wrote:
Only thing I do not understnad is why do I need to create a new directory, stage 7.

Because there is no sense to pack city once again. You just need to pack new/modified files. It will be smaller

Jon wrote:
Because you need all those London files to just load it in MM2CT correctly!! Yes?

Yes.

Jon wrote:
[url=http://img529.imageshack.us/my.php?image=hangerposition0kv.png]Here is a picture!
Please can you tell me how to delete those trees from this area?

You have to find them on props list, remove (or move to another position) and then click File->Save PROPS. Next you have to copy c:\mm2_dear\city\london\props.pathset to c:\my_mod\city\london\props.pathset because PROPS are stored in other file than INST objects.

Jon wrote:
Also is the anyway I can get rid of the grass and make it the same texture as the other floor?

Yes, there are two solutions:
1. Replace texture in block - you will have to use PSDL Viewer by fre_ber, because MM2CT doesn't allow to edit PSDL files in that way.
2. Just make your depot as big as block you want to cover. Make floor a little higher than ground - something like our testzone - and everything should be ok.

Jon wrote:
Okay, How can I find them>?

You have to check every object (but not position) on PROPS list Neutral

Jon wrote:
please can you let me know which files I need to re-copy after I have made my changes in MM2CT,, is it just the london.inst file if I do not touch the props. or do I also need to copy an updated pathset file.

If you didn't touch props, only city/london.inst + your textures + your geometry + your bound.
If you changed props, copy city/london.inst + your textures + your geometry + your bound + city/london/props.pathset

PROPS overview

As you can see, PROPS list is a treeview. This is because props are organize in specific way. In file, there is info about object name and list of positions, for example:
sp_box.pkg -> object
- pos_1 -> position
- pos_2 -> position
- pos_3 -> position
sb_box2.pkg -> object
- pos_1 -> position
- pos_2 -> position
- pos_3 -> position

In MM2CT it looks like this:
+ sb_box1.pkg
+ sb_box2.pkg

If you click + you will see:
- sb_box1.pkg
| - pos_1
| - pos_2
| - pos_3
+ sb_box2.pkg

So, if you want to find trees, you should check every object (not position). If you select object (for example sb_box1.pkg) program will mark all instances of that object. You can also try to use Select... and find all objects which contains tree in name.

-------------------------------

That's all for now Smile
_________________
... You only have to know how to prepare query, google will do the rest ...
... My software ...
... Guide to Punctuation ...


Last edited by Maxoff on 10 Jun 2007 07:49 pm; edited 10 times in total
Post 22 Dec 2005 10:59 pm
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
john20bp
MM2C Hooligan

Joined: 16 Oct 2003
Posts: 3168


Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

Id like to say again... Thanks Maxoff, your program is really great.
It has a good easy to understand interface which is really good for new learners....

Id like to also say to people who are reading this...
If you want to do this.. Read it carefully. Try experiments and just take your time because everything Maxoff has said is spot on...
Post 22 Dec 2005 11:10 pm
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Twmman2003
Leyland Lynx

Joined: 10 Oct 2004
Posts: 673
Location: Phoenix, Arizona

Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice job Maxoff Wink Thumbs Up
_________________


Post 23 Dec 2005 04:08 pm
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
crazy_e
007

Joined: 18 Mar 2009
Posts: 58
Location: MN, U.S.A.

Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

how do i compact it to ar
_________________
crazy_e
Post 20 Mar 2009 09:15 pm
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
anasbinqamar
MM2C Regular

Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 158


Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

This tutorail even a noob can understand .u doesnt understand cause u r crazy....anyway....EXELLENT work MAXOFF:::;; Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool
_________________
Post 28 Apr 2009 01:47 pm
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous: Post new topicReply to topic

Page 1 of 1 All times are GMT


Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Home - MM2C.com - Contact - Staff & Seniors - FAQ - Community Rules - Syndication


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group