[ Midtown Madness 2 Central ] [ Midtown Madness 2 Central ]

Midtown Madness 2 Central > City Editing > Using Google Maps To Make A City ?
Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic | View next topic
Author
Message Post new topicReply to topic
chrisrose1
Ensignbus Addict

Joined: 26 Aug 2007
Posts: 248


Status: Offline


Post subject: Using Google Maps To Make A City ? Reply with quote

Is it possible ?
Post 21 Feb 2008 01:07 am
View user's profile Send private message
Jason
ಠ__ಠ
Moderator

Joined: 25 Jul 2002
Posts: 4109
Location: Ontario

Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

Is this a serious question?

Let me just put this into perspective...

"Can you build a House with a floorplan only."
you can only go so far with a floorplan, but youll need to build everything yourself.

You may be able to use Sketchup to build streets and buildings. However, its a long and teidious process and If you have no real desire to put forth the effort to spend countless hours building the map then dont even bother looking into it.
_________________
Post 21 Feb 2008 01:14 am
View user's profile Send private message
chrisrose1
Ensignbus Addict

Joined: 26 Aug 2007
Posts: 248


Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

Just use them to model the roads
Post 21 Feb 2008 01:15 am
View user's profile Send private message
HummersRock
...is still seeing colours.

Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 2669
Location: Magic Mushroom Land

Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

Just do a fictional city/track; not a actual place. As for getting the roads and everything sized good, just use Maxoff's simple city for sizing. You will probably need to resize again but not a whole lot.

If you actually get serious with this and ever need help, just ask me. Razz Seriously though.
_________________
My MM2 Creations | My DeviantArt
Post 21 Feb 2008 01:22 am
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
chrisrose1
Ensignbus Addict

Joined: 26 Aug 2007
Posts: 248


Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

ok , One question when you make the city what do u have to call it H,L or what
Post 21 Feb 2008 01:24 am
View user's profile Send private message
HummersRock
...is still seeing colours.

Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 2669
Location: Magic Mushroom Land

Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you read Maxoff's Object Description yet?
_________________
My MM2 Creations | My DeviantArt
Post 21 Feb 2008 01:26 am
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
thenthornthing
MM2C Hooligan

Joined: 18 Jan 2007
Posts: 4409


Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, put it this way with Exeter I compiled a map of the whole of Exeter shove it on a 1024 x 1024 canas and then you've got your map, I resized it and then you cna work from there.
_________________
So it's "Goodnight" from me. And it's "Goodnight" from him. Goodnight!
Post 21 Feb 2008 08:10 am
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
chrisrose1
Ensignbus Addict

Joined: 26 Aug 2007
Posts: 248


Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks nathan i only wanna do a little bit of Romford.
Post 21 Feb 2008 05:24 pm
View user's profile Send private message
Lex_Luther
Waterboy

Joined: 11 Jan 2008
Posts: 18


Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm working on a program to do something like this. It will work using a roadmap (from google or wherever) for the Z and X- and a height file from NASA's Shuttle Radar Topography Mission for the Y.
http://www2.jpl.nasa.gov/srtm/
ftp://e0srp01u.ecs.nasa.gov/srtm/version2/SRTM1/
The exact geographic coordinates of at least 2 points will need to be provided, Then user can click all the points needed to generate a road.

if anyone knows how to get the coordinates of all the points on a google map (without having to click on each one) Let me know ASAP, as this will practically automate the process.

The road adding feature is functional, but still buggy-
The killer is intersections, as it is now they need to be done manually, so I'll be working on an automatic intersection maker, which will make entering in a real city much easier.
I still need to add a routine to fill in the gaps between the roads with empty blocks. A random building generator would be nice, but don't hold your breath.

It's far, far from being finished, but the road adder part is useful for modding cities.
Post 26 Feb 2008 10:31 pm
View user's profile Send private message
busboy99
MM2C Hooligan

Joined: 17 Feb 2006
Posts: 3607


Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow. That sounds well good. And will make city making proper easy. Well done Luther.
_________________
A boy was singing in a school hall when suddenly the immensity of the infinite universe hit him, and his eyes blasted out of their sockets and his lips burst and he fell to the ground and wept, his conciousness leaking out of his skull in gas form (which frightened the younger children).
- Chriddof
Also, I'm banned.
Post 26 Feb 2008 10:36 pm
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
thenthornthing
MM2C Hooligan

Joined: 18 Jan 2007
Posts: 4409


Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds great... and very ambitious.
_________________
So it's "Goodnight" from me. And it's "Goodnight" from him. Goodnight!
Post 27 Feb 2008 04:34 pm
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Pulsar Gemini
Waterboy

Joined: 28 Jul 2009
Posts: 17


Status: Offline


Post subject: map Reply with quote

would it be possible to just use a google maps floorplan and drive on it??
Post 13 Nov 2010 05:07 pm
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
chris534mm2
Ohai

Joined: 14 May 2010
Posts: 80
Location: Alberta canada

Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

This is an old topic dude
_________________
Top Gear Fan
Post 13 Nov 2010 05:20 pm
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Busdude666
MM2C Maniac

Joined: 11 May 2010
Posts: 486
Location: Manchester, United Kingdom

Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

chris534mm2 wrote:
This is an old topic dude
True, but it was better to bump this topic rather than creating new threads. Besides, you've bumped old topics before! SAY NARDA. Wink
Post 13 Nov 2010 05:43 pm
View user's profile Send private message
chris534mm2
Ohai

Joined: 14 May 2010
Posts: 80
Location: Alberta canada

Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

Busdude666 wrote:
chris534mm2 wrote:
This is an old topic dude
True, but it was better to bump this topic rather than creating new threads. Besides, you've bumped old topics before! SAY NARDA. Wink

Ya ok Laughing
_________________
Top Gear Fan
Post 13 Nov 2010 05:57 pm
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous: Post new topicReply to topic

Page 1 of 2 All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next


Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Home - MM2C.com - Contact - Staff & Seniors - FAQ - Community Rules - Syndication


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group