[ Midtown Madness 2 Central ] [ Midtown Madness 2 Central ]

Midtown Madness 2 Central > General Discussion > How To Run MM2 In Windowed Mode
Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic | View next topic
Author
Message Post new topicReply to topic
GT
MM2C Guru

Joined: 18 Mar 2005
Posts: 1771


Status: Offline


Post subject: How To Run MM2 In Windowed Mode Reply with quote

Some of you have big screens which have resolutions which MM2 won't support. You can use the patch made by a person here, but if you're a perfectionist like me, then you won't like how the dashboards look - with space on each side. I read this topic and tried - but with no result.

So today, I asked Brian (b12man) from Madness Revived to help. He provided me with a step by step basis on how to achieve this and the result was successful and since I had the pics, he said I should post the tutorial.

1. Firstly, you need -
HummersRock wrote:
Link: D3DWindower



2. Then you must open - D3DWindower, add your .exe* to the list. Then click on settings (2nd icon), next to the 'Computer' one.

Use the settings as above, clearly set the resolution to what you want it to be in the window and make sure D3dHook.dll is located, it comes with D3DWindower.

3. Then go along to the next tab, and use these exact settings.


4. On the next tab, make sure nothing is checked.


5. Now the last tab, just make sure "Use Direct Input" is checked.


6. Finally, click the blue triangle (play) button, and then the Computer button.

Now, you can enjoy MM2 in Windowed Mode.

* Please note, this must be the No-CD .exe, I tried with the original one and it won't work.

** This has been tested in Windows XP and Windows Vista. It defiantly works in both and I will be testing it in Windows 7 shortly.

If you have any questions, please contact GT, HummersRock Or b12man via PM.
Post 22 Apr 2009 09:35 pm
View user's profile Send private message
Tonywolfe121
MM2C Addict

Joined: 20 Nov 2007
Posts: 778


Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

Lol repost.

But a good one GT baby.
Post 22 Apr 2009 09:47 pm
View user's profile Send private message
b12man
Nirvanophile

Joined: 07 Aug 2006
Posts: 2153
Location: Lurking somewhere near...

Status: Offline


Xbox Live Gamertag:
ForeignBrian 12
Post subject: Reply with quote

Not quite repost Wink
The images in the old post were dead, and it didn't quite have its own topic.
This also describes it better, and explains why some people were having issues.
_________________


Tutorials || Make Your Own Traffic | Change Traffic Tuning
Projects || 93 Mustang GT | 85 Chevy Suburban [WIP]
Post 22 Apr 2009 10:15 pm
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Silent1Unknown
a.k.a. Silent

Joined: 10 May 2007
Posts: 831


Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

Ohhh!!! So thats how you do it...Nice tutorial, GT.
_________________
2010 MM2C AWARDS
Most Helpful to the Community Award
Mr. Nice Guy Award
Helping Hand Award
Post 22 Apr 2009 10:24 pm
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
mm2c_dageek
MM2C Regular

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 58


Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice!
Post 23 Apr 2009 02:26 am
View user's profile Send private message
thenthornthing
MM2C Hooligan

Joined: 18 Jan 2007
Posts: 4409


Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried this ages ago but failed. Will try later, not that I need it windowed much any more Razz.
Cheers for that GT and B12man
_________________
So it's "Goodnight" from me. And it's "Goodnight" from him. Goodnight!
Post 23 Apr 2009 05:30 am
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Dudes__Geof_
#mm2c ninja

Joined: 04 Sep 2003
Posts: 3512
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

I thought alt+f4 did the trick...
_________________
Post 27 Apr 2009 09:16 pm
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
thenthornthing
MM2C Hooligan

Joined: 18 Jan 2007
Posts: 4409


Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

Dudes__Geof_ wrote:
I thought alt+f4 did the trick...

The idea is to have the game still running whilst you could do other things.
OR as GT suggested, if your monitor size is different to MM2's standard ones.

ALT-F4 closes programs - not minimizes.
Pressing the Windows button (on a windows PC) would also minimize, but in multiplayer would kick you from the game.
_________________
So it's "Goodnight" from me. And it's "Goodnight" from him. Goodnight!
Post 28 Apr 2009 05:32 am
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mm2c_dageek
MM2C Regular

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 58


Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

pics are dead.
Post 04 Apr 2010 12:38 am
View user's profile Send private message
thenthornthing
MM2C Hooligan

Joined: 18 Jan 2007
Posts: 4409


Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

mm2c_dageek wrote:
pics are dead.


It's a year old; what do you expect?

Mind you, good idea to bump the topic as it is a useful one.

EDIT: bump has been filtered too; wtf!
_________________
So it's "Goodnight" from me. And it's "Goodnight" from him. Goodnight!
Post 04 Apr 2010 05:56 am
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
GT
MM2C Guru

Joined: 18 Mar 2005
Posts: 1771


Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes I noticed. I'll try and find them......
Post 04 Apr 2010 08:27 am
View user's profile Send private message
b12man
Nirvanophile

Joined: 07 Aug 2006
Posts: 2153
Location: Lurking somewhere near...

Status: Offline


Xbox Live Gamertag:
ForeignBrian 12
Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't say I have em anymore... Been through 3 different operating systems since that Razz it's really not that difficult to get working though, just trial and error with the settings Wink
_________________


Tutorials || Make Your Own Traffic | Change Traffic Tuning
Projects || 93 Mustang GT | 85 Chevy Suburban [WIP]
Post 04 Apr 2010 03:52 pm
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
delta3506
MM2C Regular

Joined: 07 Sep 2009
Posts: 68


Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

this would be reaaaalaly useful if I could make it work lol!

::EDIT:: Almost done it lol :L
_________________
Post 04 Apr 2010 06:01 pm
View user's profile Send private message
mm2c_dageek
MM2C Regular

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 58


Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

does anyone happen to have a picture of the correct settings"?
Post 06 Apr 2010 01:22 am
View user's profile Send private message
HummersRock
...is still seeing colours.

Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 2669
Location: Magic Mushroom Land

Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is a tutorial I made for it, which shows you the settings needed to force MM2 to run windowed. Like b12man says, it's trial and error to get games to run windowed with this program, so if you decided to try windowing another game, be prepared to try every combination possible. Razz It took me quite a while before I finally got GTA SA running windowed.

Oh, and the original link for the program is dead. I thought that I had it uploaded to MU but apparently it is no longer there, so here it is once again.
_________________
My MM2 Creations | My DeviantArt
Post 06 Apr 2010 01:47 am
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous: Post new topicReply to topic

Page 1 of 2 All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next


Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Home - MM2C.com - Contact - Staff & Seniors - FAQ - Community Rules - Syndication


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group