[ Midtown Madness 2 Central ] [ Midtown Madness 2 Central ]

Midtown Madness 2 Central > City Editing > [RTI] Pathsets: Basic file format
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
View previous topic | View next topic
Author
Message Post new topicReply to topic
fre_ber
triangle fan
Moderator

Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 2399
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

Ahh.. Nice then I just need to figure out why the automatic bound isn't correct.. :p
_________________

"He who re-invents the wheel, understands much better how a wheel works."

<[4D]JoeShmo> what we have here, is a failure.. to communicate
Post 20 May 2004 09:15 pm
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Yallis
Professional Sucker
Moderator

Joined: 20 Jul 2002
Posts: 693
Location: city.psdl

Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, you used a sphere you said? The origo of the sphere depends on the shape of the object if the sphere covers the entire object...
Also, I don't think type 0, points, need two vertices, you can't rotate them. Each vertex is one prop. Great for placing trees in hillsides etc. Type 1, line, does not repeat the prop along the defined line, only type 2, line strip, can do this.

Edit: Bah. Do PSDL Viewer read the bound as well?
Edit 2: Heh, this is the exact same info as abec said about the path types on page one...
_________________


Last edited by Yallis on 21 May 2004 02:08 am; edited 1 time in total
Post 20 May 2004 09:25 pm
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
fre_ber
triangle fan
Moderator

Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 2399
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

I didn't use a sphere - it is Java3Ds default bound. Smile

Good info, I will modify the PSDL Viewer and the specs later.

No, the PSDL Viewer does not read the bound, but if it would, it would place them correctly...
_________________

"He who re-invents the wheel, understands much better how a wheel works."

<[4D]JoeShmo> what we have here, is a failure.. to communicate
Post 20 May 2004 10:07 pm
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Yallis
Professional Sucker
Moderator

Joined: 20 Jul 2002
Posts: 693
Location: city.psdl

Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

I forgot to reply on this one...
fre_ber wrote:
If all bounds are created like that - with 0, 0, 0 on the spot where the prop is placed, all bounds would be correctly placed by my Pathset loader for PSDL Viewer.

They don't, most bounds are like this:

Jason wrote:
who the heck made this game Razz look at how that bound is placed. *shakes head*

Hehe, sometimes I think they did things like this just to confuse us. I guess the bound is where it originally was when the objects were designed. Then they centered the visible mesh for some strange reason.
_________________
Post 20 May 2004 11:03 pm
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Stereo
Senior Dismember
Moderator

Joined: 22 Jul 2002
Posts: 4023
Location: London, Ontario

Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

Of course, it could be that the .dgbangerdata file is part of the exporting process, and the way the bound file is created is tied in with the COG listed in that file so it would appear in the same place when taking that value into account.

Well, is-->was for the most part cause they finished the game a while ago.
_________________
Hi!
I can bend minds with my spoon.

A member of Team Graduation 2004/05!
Post 20 May 2004 11:59 pm
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
fre_ber
triangle fan
Moderator

Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 2399
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

Yallis wrote:
They don't, most bounds are like this:
[img]

When you say most does that mean that you have seen at least one where the bound and mesh overlap exactly?

Stereo: Yes, it is quite possible that, at least parts of the bangerdata files were created automatically when exporting the PKGs. But still it seems rather stupid to have two different coordinate systems for the bound and mesh. Unless there is some hidden reason for this, it is crazy.

P.S. I would very much like to know what anyone from AS would think about all our posts.. Wink
_________________

"He who re-invents the wheel, understands much better how a wheel works."

<[4D]JoeShmo> what we have here, is a failure.. to communicate
Post 21 May 2004 07:07 am
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Yallis
Professional Sucker
Moderator

Joined: 20 Jul 2002
Posts: 693
Location: city.psdl

Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

fre_ber - Well, I have seen some, but I don't know if they're in use. Also, remember the jumptrailer which have a vertical offset as well. You (we?) should get that MM2 reference up and running. Threads like this get quite messy.
_________________
Post 21 May 2004 07:21 am
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
fre_ber
triangle fan
Moderator

Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 2399
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm... Maybe, yes...
_________________

"He who re-invents the wheel, understands much better how a wheel works."

<[4D]JoeShmo> what we have here, is a failure.. to communicate
Post 21 May 2004 07:23 am
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Yallis
Professional Sucker
Moderator

Joined: 20 Jul 2002
Posts: 693
Location: city.psdl

Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

fre_ber - Which PKGs had bad orientation when you tried to render them in PSDL Viewer?
_________________
Post 03 Jul 2004 02:48 pm
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
fre_ber
triangle fan
Moderator

Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 2399
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't remember, but I think that this is a momentary lapse in trigonometry knowledge on my behalf. It depends on which quadrant the prop is heading.
_________________

"He who re-invents the wheel, understands much better how a wheel works."

<[4D]JoeShmo> what we have here, is a failure.. to communicate
Post 04 Jul 2004 04:23 pm
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
fre_ber
triangle fan
Moderator

Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 2399
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

BoosterMM wrote:
Someone knows how to add a texture to a pathset just like in SF the r4i_rails_f.tex texture in some of the sf pathsets?
Because that's strange but very useful for add drawings (like arrows, rails, road signs,...) to the road when the textures of psdl can't place the texture well (as in the crossroads)


As far as I understand it, the only thing differentiating a decal path from a prop path is that the string identifies a texture rather than a pkg. A few posts earlier in this thread, Yallis showed how to place the vertices in such a path. This is the same way as they are interpreted in PSDL Viewer. However, when I try to load one of the pathset files for sf, was it sf/decals.sf?, I get several error messages from the renderer saying that there are too few vertices in the paths to make a decal...
_________________

"He who re-invents the wheel, understands much better how a wheel works."

<[4D]JoeShmo> what we have here, is a failure.. to communicate
Post 03 Aug 2004 01:05 pm
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
BoosterMM
Making mm2 tracks

Joined: 12 Sep 2002
Posts: 713
Location: Spain (Espaņa)

Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, another time the wrong thread Embarassed
That texture isn't only in the decals.pathset, it is in props.pathsets and other pathsets.
Now I will search Yallis's information, I need to modify the vertices, I have put some textures but they are very stretched.

EDIT:

Thanks! Simple: One texture 2 objects, each object 2 vertexs.
_________________
In the time you smoke a cigarette, 3 people die in the world working.

So, don't smoke, and don't work Very Happy


Last edited by BoosterMM on 04 Aug 2004 11:09 am; edited 1 time in total
Post 03 Aug 2004 04:27 pm
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Yallis
Professional Sucker
Moderator

Joined: 20 Jul 2002
Posts: 693
Location: city.psdl

Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

fre_ber wrote:
However, isn't it true that even type 0 paths use two vertices per prop? One for the location of the prop and the other forming a vector for scaling and rotating? As in local(0, 0) = p0 and local(1, 1) = p1 - p0?

Well, I just checked this again, it's one co-ordinate per prop. But it looks like there an unknown value between each vertex. I have to take a closer look.


The orientation is the same for all the type 0 entries.


Isn't these barricades placed in strips?

BoosterMM - There is a tiny decal pathset in Moronville if you want a simple example.

Edit:
fre_ber - I think the specs are outdated, can you update it with your current knowledge? To me it looks like there's a PSDL block reference for each prop, at least in type 0 paths. Or have we already discussed this? Smile
_________________
Post 03 Aug 2004 04:35 pm
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
fre_ber
triangle fan
Moderator

Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 2399
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

To be honest, I haven't really looked any more at these pathsets since I have been doing other things - I just implemented it quickly and left it at that. I'm assuming that the problem with the barricade is the same problem I mentioned earlier - my incorrect trigonometry exercises that were supposed to calculate the angle around the Y-axis based on those two points..

About newer specs, I don't think I have found anything else... Like I said, I haven't even looked at it much since the discussion about the vertical placement issue. Block reference? Really?

EDIT: Erm... What was I smoking when I wrote that code? I don't understand a thing in it... Neutral

EDIT 2: Ok, I don't remember what the hell that code was meant to do, but now it looks a little better. But now some other props probably look like #!!@!.
_________________

"He who re-invents the wheel, understands much better how a wheel works."

<[4D]JoeShmo> what we have here, is a failure.. to communicate
Post 03 Aug 2004 05:32 pm
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Yallis
Professional Sucker
Moderator

Joined: 20 Jul 2002
Posts: 693
Location: city.psdl

Status: Offline


Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh! I was just thinking about Point.unknown2, in some cases this is the block ID. unknown0 and unknown1 are the you-know-what, and none of the unknown0-unknown3 values are used by the game anyway, whatsoever. They're totally ignored. Well. Smile
_________________
Post 03 Aug 2004 10:39 pm
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous: Post new topicReply to topic

Page 4 of 6 All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next


Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Home - MM2C.com - Contact - Staff & Seniors - FAQ - Community Rules - Syndication


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group